This site is privately owned and is not affiliated with any government agency. Learn more here.

Learn About Section 8 Requirements in Indiana

The Section 8 requirements in Indiana are very easy to learn, and meet, with the right preparation. Section 8, also known as the Housing Choice Vouchers (HCV) program, is a government service that provides affordable housing to the millions of American families who need it, but may not be able to afford it.

These vouchers are used in order to supplement rent and utilities for low-income families, and open up many additional living spaces to families in need.

In Indiana, Section 8 eligibility is regulated and enforced by the Indiana Housing & Community Development Authority (IHCDA). This state agency works with Hoosier communities, landlords and families in order to create more and more housing opportunities for the growing population of the state.

Indiana’s housing market is quickly growing more competitive, with many Hoosier families looking for houses faster than they are hitting the market. This is where the IHCDA can come in, helping low-income families to get the housing they need quickly and safely.

Learn About Indiana Section 8 Requirements for Family Status

Your Section 8 qualifications in Indiana will vary, depending on the different aspects of a typical Section 8 recipient that apply to you. To start, Hoosiers can only receive a Housing Choice Voucher if they meet the family requirements listed by the IHCDA.

Section 8 has been primarily designed only for families, in order to provide assistance to those Indiana residents who may have dependents and other responsibilities aside from their own. However, the IHCDA has defined a “family” as any number of persons in a single household, which can include single state residents, as well.

Section 8 family requirements in Indiana can be easily broken down into two categories. These categories include:

  • Small families, consisting of 1-2 people in the household.
  • Larger families, consisting of 3 or more people.

Making the distinction between these Section 8 housing qualification categories is important, as the number of people in your home determines how much money you are permitted to earn every year, while still receiving this special housing.

This income information, discussed below, is linked closely with how many people in your home contribute to it.

What are the Section 8 income limits in Indiana?

Indiana’s income-related HUD housing requirements are extremely critical to understand if you plan to learn how to apply for Section 8 successfully. Housing assistance has been designed only for those who legitimately need financial help with paying for their living arrangements.

Therefore, many families who might otherwise meet all of the right requirements are ineligible for an HCV due to the amount of money that they bring home every year. Non-cash assets also play a large role in determining your household income, which include elements such as stocks, real estate, pensions, inheritances and more.

If you are wondering, “Do I qualify for low income housing in Indiana?” then there are a few income restrictions that you will need to keep in mind. First, you will need to be aware of the acquisition limit in your county. This is the sales price of the Section 8-eligbile home in which you would like to live.

If that price is above a certain amount, it will be unable to be covered under an HCV. In addition, different Section 8 income requirements apply to different counties across Indiana. There are dozens of different Indiana counties with unique figures, but some of the most populous include:

  • Marion County. For one- to two-person families, the most recent annual household income limit was set at $77,200. For families with three or more people, this limit was $88,780.
  • Lake County. For one- to two-person families, the most recent annual household income limit was set at $69,100. For families with three or more people, this limit was $79,465.
  • Allen County. For one- to two-person families, the 2018 annual household income limit was $66,600. For families with three or more people, this limit was $76,590.

These Indiana Section 8 income requirements are based heavily on the local economies of each Indiana county, and are subject to change over time. For this reason, the IHCDA releases its own Acquisition and Income Limits each year, which are crucial to review on a regular basis.

Learn About Indiana Section 8 Qualifications for Legal Presence and Residency

As a branch of the U.S. Department of Housing & Urban Development (HUD), the IHCDA is subject to a number of federal requirements that impact state residents. Among the HUD housing guidelines in Indiana are certain residency requirements that must be passed, if you wish to get a Section 8 voucher.

First, the most basic of these residency requirements states that you cannot have more than one place of residence in order to get Section 8 benefits. If you are receiving any form of subsidy benefits for another home or unit, or you have a different home out of the state, the IHCDA will prevent you from receiving any financial aid through an HCV.

When it comes to how to qualify for Section 8 housing, there are specific requirements that involve the citizenship status of the applicant. According to HUD regulations, only U.S. citizens and residents of Indiana with relevant immigration statuses may get this coverage. Some of these different types of noncitizens that can be eligible for Section 8 include:

  • Non-residents who are temporary students in America.
  • Refugees that have been legally accepted into America.
  • Members of families with a mix of citizens and noncitizens of America.

Depending on which type of noncitizen you are, you may be eligible for Section 8 coverage resulting in a different amount of benefits. For example, “mixed families,” as in the third example, are often eligible for a prorated assistance package, which provides limited assistance for those members of a family that are U.S. citizens.

Learn About Additional Section 8 Requirements in Indiana

If you are still unsure of how to qualify for Section 8 housing in Indiana, there are a number of additional prerequisites that you should keep in mind. For starters, you will be unable to get a Section 8 voucher in Indiana if you have been evicted from a public housing unit for any reason.

Additionally, restrictions for Section 8 also apply to any home or apartment evictions for a drug-related crime, if that eviction took place within the last three years. This is in an effort to keep Section 8 communities safe, and out of potential criminal risks.

However, a longer period of time will usually result in further consideration for Section 8 eligibility being given to families that want Section 8 housing.

For example, if a member of your family caused your eviction from an apartment eight years ago, but does not live with your family now, your Section 8 application may be approved, instead of receiving a housing voucher denial, due to those extenuating circumstances.

To contact your Indiana HUD office, click here.