This site is privately owned and is not affiliated with any government agency. Learn more here.

Learn About Section 8 Requirements in Iowa

Section 8 requirements in Iowa are an essential part of the low-income housing market in the state, but they are often not widely talked about. The Department of Housing & Urban Development (HUD) is responsible for many different housing-related topics across the country, which require individual agencies in each state to set rules and limitations that are state-specific. Perhaps the biggest responsibility of these agencies is to regulate Section 8, or the Housing Choice Voucher (HCV) program. This special form of financial aid is provided to families who qualify based on their income, citizenship and much more.

Section 8 qualifications in Iowa are determined by the state’s branch of HUD, the Iowa Finance Authority (IFA), which is also responsible for providing assistance to the homeless, creating the rules for renting in the state. In Iowa, HCV is often referred to as Housing Assistance Payments (HAP), which provides low-income housing to thousands of Iowans who need it most. Learn how you might qualify for this unique housing program in Iowa, so you can live in the kind of home that you want and deserve.

Learn About Iowa Section 8 Requirements for Family Status

To determine your Section 8 eligibility in Iowa, you will need to prove to the IFA that your family is in need of such financial assistance. This can be done in a variety of different ways, but the first aspect to be aware of is how Iowa defines families. For the sake of the assistance provided by Section 8 housing, families are an important distinction to be able to make. Depending on how big a family is, the unit members will have different responsibilities, overall costs of living and even multiple income streams. However, the state of Iowa considers one person to be a family, just as much as 10 people coexisting together.

Although Section 8 housing eligibility in Iowa applies to families of all sizes, there are actually many different categories of family size that are applicable to Iowa Section 8 applicants. This includes families one to eight people, or more. Therefore, families of five people will have different requirements to fulfill with the IFA than families of eight, but families of eight and families of 12 will have the same requirements. These distinctions are especially important with regards to household income.

What are the Section 8 income limits in Iowa?

The Section 8 income limits in Iowa are significant, as they play one of the biggest roles in determining who can – and who cannot – get an HCV in the state. Housing is a huge part of our annual costs as Americans, and it often takes up a large portion of our yearly salaries. However, the number of people in your home impacts the amount that you will need to spend on living costs, and the ratio of workers and dependents among your family will also play a large role. If your annual household income falls below a certain amount, you may be eligible to receive financial help from the HUD and IFA. There are three different income classifications in Iowa, which are:

  1. Low income.
  2. Very-low income.
  3. Extra-low Income.

As previously mentioned, your Section 8 guidelines in Iowa are dependent – not only on your income and family size – but also the Iowa county in which you reside. There are 99 different counties in Iowa, so this leads to quite a few different income figures, depending largely on the local economies and cost of living in those counties. Some examples of recent Iowa Section 8 income limits include:

  • Benton County. While a low-income family of three could make no more than $57,550 per year in 2018, a low-income family of eight could make no more than $84,300 per year.
  • Marion County. While a low-income family of three could make no more than $52,800 per year in 2018, a low-income family of eight could make no more than $77,450 per year.
  • Wright County. While a low-income family of three could make no more than $48,850 per year in 2018, a low-income family of 8 could make no more than $71,650 per year.

Your IA Section 8 income requirements may also be impacted by things other than your household salaries. These include assets, which can consist of inheritances, stocks and bonds, the value of any owned real estate and potentially more. If these assets and your household income add up to more than the numbers listed above, the IFA may limit or revoke your Section 8 coverage.

Learn About Iowa Section 8 Qualifications for Legal Presence and Residency

Many Iowans wonder, “Do I qualify for low income housing in Iowa as a citizen of the United States?” While it is certainly not the only requirement, citizenship and residency play a very important role in whether or not you can get Section 8 housing. Not only do you need to live in Iowa and only have one place of residence while on IFA Section 8 coverage, but you also need to meet certain U.S. citizenship criteria. You can meet the HUD housing requirements in Iowa if you:

  • Are a U.S. citizen or permanent legal resident.
  • Are a student, and legally studying in the U.S.
  • Are a refugee or an asylum-seeker with the required documents.
  • Have at least some members of your household who are U.S. citizens.

Proving any of these citizenship statuses with legal documents is required if you are learning how to apply for Section 8 coverage in Iowa.

Learn About Additional Section 8 Requirements in Iowa

Learning how to qualify for Section 8 housing in Iowa is a complex topic, because there are multiple different eligibility requirements that you will need to juggle when you wish to apply to the IFA. Alongside your family, income and citizenship requirements, Iowa Section 8 vouchers require a relatively clean housing record. Section 8 homes and apartments are often privately owned, rather than owned by the Iowa state government, but they are still strictly regulated by the IFA.

Therefore, all of your family’s past evictions will be closely examined, and could result in disqualification. This could apply if you were evicted due to a drug-related crime in the last three years, if you were evicted multiple times for not paying your rent and more. Section 8 requirements in Iowa can be confusing at times, but providing the IFA with all of the necessary information will allow you to have full eligibility to get the housing assistance you need.

To contact your Iowa HUD office, click here.