This site is privately owned and is not affiliated with any government agency. Learn more here.

Learn About the Requirements for Section 8 Housing in Kansas

Discovering the Section 8 requirements in Kansas is an important first step in getting help with low income housing costs. Millions of families across the United States use Section 8 housing, also referred to as the Housing Choice Voucher (HCV) program, in order to get financial assistance and a decent place to live for a relatively low cost. The requirements for such a program are rather strict, in order to only give aid to those who need it.

The U.S. Department of Housing & Urban Development (HUD) establishes Section 8 eligibility for low-income Kansans. Specifically, each county in the state of Kansas has its own branch of the HUD, which regulates its own rules and limits with regards to housing. This is slightly different than many other states, who have their own larger agency that is in charge of multiple counties.

Kansas housing agencies work hard to provide specialized Section 8 housing neighborhoods across the state while also allowing for landlords to rent out eligible homes to the program if they wish. To learn more about eligibility requirements for this Kansas housing program, read the sections below.

Learn About Kansas Section 8 Requirements for Family Status

Section 8 qualifications in Kansas are broad and diverse, and they cover many different topics that you will need to keep in mind. According to HUD requirements, the first point of eligibility that Kansans should be aware of is the definition of “family” according to Section 8 regulations.

The program is open to households of one or more persons, regardless of relational ties through blood or marriage. Depending on the number of people in a family, the household will be required to follow different instructions with regards to income and more.

What are the Section 8 income limits in Kansas?

Next, the Section 8 income limits in Kansas are an extremely vital part of the low-income housing application process. If your annual household income falls below a certain amount that is determined by HUD and Kansas housing authorities, you may be eligible for housing assistance.

While the costs of living are generally high across the country, certain locations have higher rents than others. Therefore, just as with other states, each county in Kansas has its own local economy that impacts what an average household income looks like and how far that money can go.

Kansas Section 8 income requirements are divided into three categories:

  • Low Income (80 percent of the median income for the area)
  • Very Low Income (50 percent of that median)
  • Extra Low Income (30 percent of that median)

These figures all play an important role, as there are three different income limits to keep in mind as an applicant of Section 8 in Kansas. Each of Kansas’ 105 counties have their own median income levels that you will need to keep in mind as a resident of the state. Some KS Section 8 income guidelines from 2018 are as follows:

  • Decatur County. While a Low Income family of 3 could make no more than $39,500 per year in 2018, a Low Income family of 8 could make no more than $57,900 per year.
  • Ford County. While a Low Income family of 3 could make no more than $41,200 per year in 2018, a Low Income family of 8 could make no more than $60,400 per year.
  • Grant County. While a Low Income family of 3 could make no more than $48,750 per year in 2018, a Low Income family of 8 could make no more than $71,500 per year.

Additionally, these income limits change every year, so it is important to check with your nearest Kansas HUD office to learn about current limits. Kansas HUD housing requirements also factor in assets into your annual household income, as well as the salaries of any working members of your family.

Assets may include stocks, bonds, bank accounts, retirement funds, real estate, inheritances and more. If you experience a change in income or family, or need more information on your assets, contact your local Public Housing Authority.

Learn About Kansas Section 8 Qualifications for Legal Presence and Residency

Answering the question “Do I qualify for low income housing in Kansas?” is impossible without considering your family’s residency status. As a state government organization, the Kansas HUD can only provide benefits to those individuals who are legally able to receive federal and state aid. Living in Kansas is an important step towards this, but you must also be one of the following:

  • S. citizen or Legal Permanent Resident.
  • Foreign student in the U.S.
  • Legally present non-citizen

Additionally, while you are in Kansas, you must have only one place of residency in order to receive Section 8 benefits. Citizenship and residency can be proven to the Kansas HUD with a number of legal documents that you should prepare before applying for section 8 housing.

Learn About Additional Section 8 Requirements in Kansas

Finally, applicants can learn how to qualify for Section 8 housing in Kansas by proving their residency and providing any criminal history with the Kansas HUD. Because Section 8 eligibility is so strict, having a complex criminal record may exclude an applicant household from coverage.

For example, the Kansas HUD will take a close look at an applicant household’s past home and apartment evictions when considering it for coverage. Families evicted due to a drug-related crime in the past 3 years or have been kicked out of an apartment multiple times in recent years will be denied for Section 8.

To contact your Kansas HUD, click here.