This site is privately owned and is not affiliated with any government agency. Learn more here.

Learn About Section 8 Requirements in Missouri

Missouri Public Housing Agencies (PHAs) use federal Section 8 requirements to qualify individuals and families to receive essential housing assistance. Section 8 housing vouchers are funded by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) and allow recipients to access or remain in private housing appropriate to their needs. Applicants can meet Section 8 qualifications if they are elderly, disabled, low or very low income. Income limits are assessed on a sliding scale that takes into account family size and the median income for all households in the region.

Applicants who meet the baseline criteria may be subject to additional Section 8 eligibility factors. PHAs routinely screen applicants for negative housing histories, such as a pattern of lease breaking. They also look for criminal histories which indicate the applicants would present a threat to their communities. These screenings help PHAs ensure that housing assistance goes to applicants most likely to be successful in the program.

Learn About Missouri Section 8 Requirements for Family Status

Section 8 housing eligibility guidelines define a “family” as a single person or a group a persons who live together. Individuals in a household may be elderly, disabled or neither. Families may include children under the age of 18, but are not required to. Children are counted as part of a family even if they are temporarily in an alternative living placement such as foster care. Live-in aides may be counted as part of a family if they are crucial to the support and well-being of the elderly or disabled individuals for whom they are caring.

By law, HUD housing requirements and the PHAs implementing them cannot discriminate against individuals or families on the basis of marital status, sexual orientation or gender identity.

Families in which the head of household and/or his or her spouse has qualifying disabilities may be designated “disabled families.” Likewise, families whose heads of household are elderly or near-elderly may be marked as “elderly families.” These designations cannot hurt applicants’ Section 8 eligibility but may improve the likelihood that they receive assistance.

What are the Section 8 income limits in Missouri?

Section 8 income limits vary by household size and region. PHAs use a sliding scale to compare families’ incomes to the median incomes for the region the agency oversees. For example, in the St. Louis area, the maximum income limit for a single person household is $26,900, while the maximum income limit for a family of four is $38,400. The limits for families of those sizes will vary among PHAs around the state because each city or region has its own distinct median income against which applicant income is evaluated.

Section 8 income requirements are based on households’ annual income. Annual income measurements include all monies earned or received by all members of the home. This includes but is not limited to wages, interest paid from investments, pensions and spousal or child support payments.

Federal Section 8 eligibility guidelines state that households with annual incomes at or below 80 percent of the median income for their area qualify as “low income” and households with annual incomes at or below 50 percent of the area median income are “very low income.” Due to the extensive demand for assistance, however, many PHAs in Missouri restrict eligibility applications to:

  • Very low income households.
  • Low income households who are already receiving housing assistance under other qualifying housing programs when they apply for or enroll in the Section 8 program.
  • Families who have been involuntarily displaced from other public or supported housing situations.

Applicants who are unsure of their eligibility are encouraged to contact their local PHAs for specific information on the income limits in their region. Applicants who do not meet the Section 8 income limits set by their local PHAs may apply for and receive assistance through other Missouri PHAs with different income limits if they are willing to relocate into that PHAs region when awarded. Section 8 participants already receiving assistance may also lose coverage if they experience a change in income or family composition.

Learn About Missouri Section 8 Qualifications for Legal Presence and Residency

Applicants for Section 8 assistance in Missouri regularly ask, “do I qualify for low income housing assistance if I am not a resident?” Under HUD housing requirements, applicants must be citizens of the United States or eligible non-citizens in order to receive housing assistance. Non-citizens qualify for Section 8 if they have been:

  • Granted legal permanent residence in the United States.
  • Granted refugee, asylum status or federal “parole” status.
  • Given shelter in the U.S. under federal amnesty provisions.
  • Victims of human trafficking.

Applicants must be residents of Missouri to apply for Section 8 assistance in the state.

Learn About Additional Section 8 Requirements in Missouri

In addition to qualifying via income level, disability status or age, applicants must satisfy a variety of other criteria to qualify for section 8 housing. Some supplemental eligibility factors are established by federal guidelines. Others may be unique to a specific PHA based on regional needs and resources. In general, applicants can expect to be denied assistance for any or all of the following.

  • Drug and alcohol abuse. Federal guidelines prohibit PHAs from making awards to individuals with known substance abuse problems, as well as individuals with disabilities that stem directly from known substance abuse.
  • Negative housing history. PHAs may refuse to enroll applicants who otherwise meet Section 8 qualifications if they have a record of negative behaviors related to housing. This might include failing to upload the terms of former leases, violent or repeated disputes with former landlords and other behaviors which suggest the applicants are not good fits for the Section 8 program.
  • Criminal record. Applicants whose records suggest that they are unlikely to comply with the terms of the program or that they might present a threat to others will not be considered for assistance.
  • Outstanding PHA grievances. Applicants are ineligible for Section 8 if they have broken leases or program terms with another PHA from whom they were receiving assistance, owe money to another PHA or had their services terminated by another PHA for inappropriate or threatening behavior toward agency staff.

By law, applicants’ Section 8 housing eligibility cannot be negatively impacted on grounds that they were victims of domestic violence, dating violence, stalking or similar crimes. Nor can they be discriminated against due to race, religion or any other protected characteristic. Neither PHAs nor landlords can violate Section 8 tenant rights.

PHAs are permitted by law to grant priority status to certain sub-populations and to serve applicants meeting their preferred criteria before providing assistance to other families who applied first. For example, a PHA may classify displaced families as a priority population in their region and move qualifying applicants to the top of the waiting list ahead of other, non-displaced awardees.

To contact your Missouri HUD office, click here.