This site is privately owned and is not affiliated with any government agency. Learn more here.

Learn About Section 8 Requirements in North Dakota

Section 8 requirements in North Dakota are similar to the requirements in all other states, since Section 8 is a federal program. However, beyond the Section 8 qualifications set by the federal government, state and local county officials can institute additional requirements. In ND, the requirements reflect the national standards, though eligibility depends on the cost of living in an area. The Housing Choice Voucher (HCV) program, more commonly known as Section 8, is funded by the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD). However, eligibility for housing assistance is determined by local Public Housing Agencies (PHAs).

Section 8 income limits are a primary factor in determining your eligibility for housing assistance. Section 8 eligibility also includes the make-up of your family and household, plus the residency and citizenship status of each member of the household. Learn more about each of these categories in the sections below to see if you qualify for assistance. Your own county housing authority will oversee your program on a local level.

Learn About North Dakota Section 8 Requirements for Family Status

Section 8 housing eligibility in North Dakota is partially determined by your family composition, which includes any person living with you. Whether you are related by blood or by marriage, or even if you are not related at all, the people you share your home with will contribute to your eligibility status for assistance. HUD housing requirements include identifying each member of your household, regardless of age, in order to best assess your need for housing help.

When asking “Do I qualify for low income housing?” you need to first look at your family and household status. If anyone in your household is elderly or disabled, you will likely receive higher priority assistance. North Dakota considers anyone aged 62 years or older to be elderly. Keep in mind that you will have to provide supporting documentation for any claim made on your application, from identification to immigration status to proof of disability status.

Knowing how to qualify for Section 8 housing in North Dakota starts with understanding who is part of your household and gathering all of the necessary personal details for each member. Start by writing down the following for each person:

  • Full legal name
  • Date of birth
  • Place of birth
  • Social Security Number (SSN) or immigration paperwork proving legal residence
  • Job details
  • Income amounts
  • Criminal history

What are the Section 8 income limits in North Dakota?

The ND income limits for Section 8 housing will vary by county and according to your household size. After you have determined the total number of household members per the guidelines above, you can then compare that total number to your total household income.

The Section 8 income limits used are based on your Adjusted Gross Income (AGI). You can find your AGI on your tax return from last year as a separate line item. If you do not have a tax return to use, you can take your total annual income, minus deductions, to calculate your AGI. You should also have pay slips and W-2s or other income verification documents to show as proof of current income for everyone in your household.

To get an idea of housing assistance income limits in the state, you can review the thresholds posted for Bismarck, ND in 2017. The Median Family Income was $82,600, upon which the following limits were set for each category.

Extra-low income:

  • 1 person – $17,400
  • 2 person – $19,850
  • 3 person – $22,350
  • 4 person – $24,800

Very-low income:

  • 1 person – $28,950
  • 2 person – $33,050
  • 3 person – $37,200
  • 4 person – $41,300

Low income:

  • 1 person – $46,300
  • 2 person – $52,900
  • 3 person – $59,500
  • 4 person – $66,100

When providing your income information for Section 8 applications, you will also need to share all details for any bank accounts, savings accounts, retirement accounts or any other financial program where you have money saved or stored. You will need exact amounts for all assets, as well as details for any other benefits your household receives.

Learn About North Dakota Section 8 Qualifications for Legal Presence and Residency

In addition to the ND Section 8 requirements described above, only U.S. citizens or legally present immigrants may receive housing assistance. When you apply for Section 8, you must prove your citizenship or immigration status via a Social Security Number or acceptable immigration documentation proving your status.

Additional eligibility factors for Section 8 in North Dakota include your residency in the state. If you live in an area with a long waiting list and you have the ability to move to a new county to receive housing assistance there, you must first confirm with that new county regarding your residency status. Some counties only allow current residents to apply for assistance, while others will allow you to apply before moving, thus enabling you to obtain vouchers before moving to a new home. Be sure to confirm with both your current county and your potential new county for details.

To meet these qualifications for ND Section 8, you might need to show a North Dakota license or state-issued ID card, a utility bill or a current or former lease in your name.

Learn About Additional Section 8 Requirements in North Dakota

Meeting the North Dakota Section 8 housing requirements also includes proving that your vouchers are being used for your primary residence. The ND Housing Finance Agency (NDHFA) requires your vouchers be used for your sole residence and that you do not benefit from more than one rent subsidy at any given time. Annual Section 8 inspections are required, so you will have to assure the inspector that this residence is your one and only residence.

Another Section 8 requirement is a criminal background check. These are required of every single applicant who is 18 years of age or older. The application requires you to answer whether or not any household member has been charged with or convicted of any crime. You must provide details or the application will be rejected. Since a criminal background check will be conducted regardless, it is best to answer in as much detail as possible on your initial application.

To contact your North Dakota HUD office, click here.