This site is privately owned and is not affiliated with any government agency. Learn more here.

Learn About Section 8 Requirements in Oregon

Section 8 requirements in Oregon reflect the national standards for the program that are set by the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD), which oversees the federal program. Locally, Section 8 qualifications can also include other requirements set by the state or by your local Public Housing Authority (PHA). You must make sure you understand all of the necessary federal and local requirements before you submit an application.

The Section 8 income limits are the primary deciding factor in determining your eligibility for assistance. While other Section 8 eligibility factors will weigh in, your total income as a comparison to the poverty level and median family income for your area will greatly impact your ability to get assistance. If you are under the income limits set by your local PHA, then you simply need to meet the other eligibility criteria before you can potentially be added to a waitlist or even offered immediate assistance.

Learn About Oregon Section 8 Requirements for Family Status

Your Section 8 housing eligibility in Oregon will be determined according to the number of people who make up your family household. “Do I qualify for low income housing?” is a common question among new applicants. To make this important determination, you must first understand who is considered to be part of your household. Your income limit will be set according to the size of your household, so start with your family status, and then you can move on to your finances to determine whether or not you can learn how to apply for Section 8 successfully.

The HUD housing requirements indicate that anyone who lives with you full-time, and who participates as a member of the household (meaning cooking and eating together and sharing in household responsibilities) is considered to be part of your household. Each individual must be accounted for in your application, with personal identifying information included, as well as financial information.

To determine your eligibility for housing assistance, first figure out how many people will be counted in your household, including children. If a member of your household is elderly or disabled, you might also receive priority assistance. “Elderly” is considered to be older than 62 years of age for Section 8 applicants.

What are the Section 8 income limits in Oregon?

Oregon Section 8 income requirements are determined on a local level, based on the median family income in the housing authority area. While you will have to consult the limits for your PHA specifically, you can use these statewide income limits as an initial guideline for your own eligibility:

2018 Very Low-Income (50%) Limit (VLIL)

Family Income

1 Person 2 People 3 People 4 People 5 People 6 People 7 People 8 People
$69,900 $24,450 $27,950 $31,450 $34,950 $37,750 $40,550 $43,350 $46,150
2018 Extremely Low-Income Limit (ELIL)
1 Person 2 People 3 People 4 People 5 People 6 People 7 People 8 People
$14,700 $16,800 $18,850 $20,950 $22,650 $24,350 $26,000 $27,700
2018 Low-Income (80%) Limit (LIL)
1 Person 2 People 3 People 4 People 5 People 6 People 7 People 8 People

You may qualify for Section 8 housing if your total household income is within the standards for any level above. Note, however, that your income is not the only factor in determining your eligibility. You will have to share other details to ensure you meet each requirement, including your family status and citizenship, which are outlined below.

In addition to income limits for Section 8, you will have to share any other financial resources or assets you and members of your household have. This could include unearned income from other benefits and assistance. It could also include retirement accounts, vehicles you own and other factors that influence your overall financial status.

Learn About Oregon Section 8 Qualifications for Legal Presence and Residency

Knowing how to qualify for Section 8 housing in Oregon can help you to most efficiently apply for assistance, if you need it. Part of that qualification is your citizenship and residency information. Only U.S. citizens and lawfully present immigrants can be considered eligible for housing assistance. Every applicant must prove his or her citizenship in order to be eligible, which could be done through a Social Security Number (SSN), a U.S. passport or other federally approved documentation.

For noncitizens to prove eligibility for Section 8, appropriate immigration documentation will have to be shown. If there is a noncitizen in your household, just be sure to gather all the required details, and do not exclude that person from your application.

Other Section 8 qualification requirements include your residency in the area where you apply for assistance. While some PHAs will not require you to be a current resident, they might have a work requirement instead, meaning that you must currently be employed or have a job offer in that jurisdiction. However, other PHAs will allow you to apply there without meeting these requirements, at all. For PHAs that do require you to be a current resident, you might have to prove your residency through a current lease, utility bill or other documentation.

Learn About Additional Section 8 Requirements in Oregon

Remember that your eligibility for Section 8 does not mean you can use your housing vouchers for any property anywhere. Instead, your initial eligibility review will determine whether or not you can receive assistance, and then you will have to find an acceptable property. A landlord might then conduct a Section 8 interview to determine your eligibility as a tenant. Landlords have the right to deny your application, so it is a good idea to view several property options, and submit your applications, as necessary.

Also keep in mind that eligibility requirements for Section 8 include checking the criminal history of your entire household. If you or any other household member has been convicted of a crime, you must include those details in your application. A criminal history does not necessarily mean that you are ineligible for assistance, but it must be divulged, and the details will be evaluated and reviewed by your local PHA.

To contact your Oregon HUD office, click here.