This site is privately owned and is not affiliated with any government agency. Learn more here.

Learn About Requirements by State

Meeting the Section 8 requirements is essential before you apply for housing assistance.

Section 8, otherwise known as the Housing Choice Voucher Program, is administered at the national level by the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD).

At the local level, Section 8 is overseen by public housing agencies (PHAs). These PHAs determine specific Section 8 qualifications on their own, meaning that the eligibility requirements will vary based on where applicants live. Most states have multiple PHA organizations, making it necessary to locate the agency that serves a certain community. Candidates should also prepare for the Section 8 interview which takes place at their PHA.

Once you have found the local PHA, check to see if you meet the Section 8 income limits for your region. Because income varies based on one area to the next, each PHA can set its own requirements. In general, your family’s income cannot exceed 50 percent of the median income for the city or county where you live.

Furthermore, some PHAs will give preference to your family if your income is less than 30 percent of the median income for the area. Note that your family size is a major factor when it comes to meeting the income requirements. Finally, Section 8 housing eligibility is also based on factors such as your citizenship or legal presence in the U.S.

Select Your State

Related Topics

Additional Resources

Join Our Newsletter

To be updated with our latest news

By clicking "Join", I represent that I am 18+ years of age; I understand that this site is privately owned and is not affiliated with, nor endorsed by any government agency, I agree that the personal information I provide you with may be shared with third parties for other marketing purposes, and agree to the Privacy Policy, California Privacy Policy and Terms and Conditions; and agree to receive email marketing from